Auditions - Maya and the Sea Dragon

From $0 aud
Sun Mar 24, 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM (AEDT)
Knox Cultural Centre, Cnr Borambil St and the Pacific Highway, Warrawee, NSW, Australia  

The Audition Experience

The best way to learn is through practice. In the MSTYP production of ‘Maya and the Sea Dragon’ young people are mentored by industry professionals to perform 23 times in front of an audience of general public families.

Auditions themselves are a great experience. Get involved in the creative process, work with professional artists for a day, have fun creating with other young people…and while we’re casting for 12 actors there’s also more positions available than just onstage! There’s also understudying, stage management, technical theatre, front of house, other creative mentorships and more. Auditions are open for young people aged 12+, and we encourage anyone who is interested to attend.

We aim for everyone who auditions to be involved in some capacity.

Characters include: young Maya (our hero, the little girl who saves the day), Koru the baby Seahorse, Samsara the ancient Seadragon, Benny the Seal, Armani the rather fashionable crab, Squiddich the giant cuttlefish, Namaka the Sea Goddess, Reg and Charlie our yellow submariners, Davy Jones, Zalia the Weedy Seadragon and more! There’s lots of scope for characterisation, music, ensemble work and more. We want to see what YOU bring to the process.

This is one of our flagship events as part of our 50th Birthday Celebrations in 2019, and an exciting opportunity to be a part of the development of a new script with award winning author and playwright Wendy Blaxland.

All Welcome

Not sure if being in a production is right for you? Not sure you’ll get a part, or fit in? We want everyone to get involved, regardless of background, experience, if you know others who are coming (or not - make friends on the day!). We want unique, creative young people, and there’s a variety of different ways you can get involved too. We want you there.

Rehearsal Dates

__ If you are not able to make these dates, come for the audition anyway! There’s a variety of different ways you can be involved, even if your time is limited. __

Rehearsals are 10am-4pm unless otherwise notified.

  • Saturday 13 April
  • Sun 14 April
  • Sat 27 April
  • Sun 28 April
  • Sat 4 May
  • Sun 5 May
  • Sat 11 May
  • Sat 18 May
  • Sun 19 May
  • Sat 25 May
  • Sun 26 May
  • Sat 1 June
  • Sun 2 June
  • Sat 8 June
  • Sun 9 June
  • Sat 15 June
  • Sun 16 June
  • Sat 22 June
  • Sun 23 June
  • Sat 29 June
  • Sun 30 June

Performances - July 6 - 20th

Monday to Fridays - two performances a day. Call times 9:30 - 3pm. Performance times are 10:30am and 1pm
Saturdays - one performance. Call time 12 until 3pm.
__ Times subject to change __

Knox Cultural Centre, Cnr Borambil St and the Pacific Highway, Warrawee, NSW, Australia
Categories